2004 IEEE Radar Conference

Innovative Radar Technologies - Expanding System Capabilities

 April 26-29, 2004 Wyndham Philadelphia at Franklin Plaza Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
HomeConf InfoProgramPapersTutorialsExhibitsSponsorsAuthorsNewsParticipant Login

Tutorial 3.2
Synthetic Aperture Radar

Dr. Hugh Griffiths - University College, London

Thu, 29 April 2004, 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM


Since its origins in the 1950s, Synthetic Aperture Radar is now a well-established part of the radar art, and is routinely used, with both aircraft-borne and satellite-borne systems for surveillance purposes and for geophysical remote sensing. The objective of the tutorial is to provide an understanding of the fundamentals of SAR imaging, the processing algorithms used to form the SAR image, the limitations and tradeoffs in SAR system design, and a variety of SAR applications, including spotlight mode, MTI, motion compensation, low-frequency SAR and interferometric SAR. Both aircraft-borne and spaceborne systems will be covered, with numerous examples of practical SAR systems and images, from all over the world. * historical background * SAR principles * SAR processing * SAR applications * airborne surveillance * stripmap and spotlight modes * MTI * spaceborne SAR applications * interferometric SAR


Dr. Hugh Griffiths - University College, London

Hugh Griffiths is Head of the Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering at University College London, England. He received the MA degree in Physics from Oxford University in 1975, then spent three years working in industry, before joining University College London, where he received the PhD degree in 1986 and the DSc(Eng) degree in 2000. His research interests include radar and sonar systems and signal processing, and antenna measurement techniques. He has published over two hundred papers and technical articles in the fields of radar and antennas. In 1996 he received the IEEE AESS Nathanson Award. He is a member of the IEEE AESS Radar Systems Panel and the AESS Board of Governors. He is a Fellow of the IEE, Fellow of the IEEE, and in 1997 he was elected to Fellowship of the Royal Academy of Engineering.

To Top

© Copyright 2004, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc.